Can I transfer my whole class to another teacher?

Yes, but it's not as simple as clicking a button. This article goes over three ways to achieve the result of handing over a Checkology class to another teacher:

  1. Establish the new teacher as a co-teacher for the class.
  2. Transfer each student one-by-one to the new teacher.
  3. Transfer your whole Checkology account to the new teacher.


Establish the new teacher as a co-teacher for the class.

Description:

This method allows the new teacher to perform all of the usual functions of a Checkology teacher, except for editing the class settings and creating/editing the class’ course. If your colleague needs to be able to edit the class settings or course, please use another method outlined in this article. 

Instructions:

Follow the link below for instructions:

  Related article: Class settings: Co-teachers


Transfer each student one-by-one to the new teacher.

Description:

This method moves student accounts from one teacher's class into another teacher's class. There are two important considerations before deciding on this method: 

  1. Both educators must have Checkology accounts affiliated with the same school/organization.
  2. Student progress transfers along with the student wherever there is any overlap between the two classes (the class they are transferring out of and into). For example, if the student completed InfoZones in their previous class, that lesson would appear completed in the new class too if the new class also has InfoZones assigned. This is the case for both coursework and pre-/post-assessment data. (If you want student data NOT to transfer over, the new teacher may want students to create new student accounts instead.)

Instructions:

Follow the link below for instructions:

Once in the below article, click open the right-hand tab, "Transferring students across teachers."

  Related article: Transferring students


Transfer your whole Checkology account to the new teacher.

Description:

This method allows you to easily hand over all your classes to a new teacher. All you need to do is update the email and name associated with your Checkology account. Then, just hand over the login information to your colleague. 

The only aspect of your account that you will be unable to update is your username. The username appears to students when feedback is returned to them. So, if teacher Alan Miller transferred his account to a colleague, that colleague's students would still see "amiller has reviewed your lesson..." whenever they evaluated and returned feedback to them on Checkology. 

Instructions:

Follow the instructions below:

  1. Click on your icon in the top right corner of your account and select "Manage Account" from the dropdown menu.

  2. Update the first name, last name, email, and phone number (optional)

  3. Click "Save."

Kim2.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful