Grading FAQs

How do I know what credit level to select or feedback to offer?

When assigning a credit level or writing feedback, it can be helpful to have the Checkology lesson handy so you can easily see the assessment context. There are two places you can go to get the lesson handy for grading:

The Content tab
Visit the Content tab and click "preview" next to the assigned lesson. Jump to the element that you are grading by using the navigation buttons at the bottom of the lesson window.
Lesson Guides

If you don't feel like clicking through a lesson, you can bring up a "full lesson guide" in the Comprehensive Lesson Guides. Our full lesson guides are designed to help you glean context easily and have all other relevant grading information in one spot. To access a full lesson guide, go to the resources tab and click on "Lesson guides." Once you locate and click on the lesson guide you want, scroll down to the magnifying glass and click "full lesson guide."

full.png    Full3.PNG

Is the feedback and credit I enter auto-saved?

All feedback and credit entered is auto-saved by the platform, but feedback and credit will not be shared with students until it is "posted" back to them. You can enter feedback and credit for as many students as you like before selecting the green "Post to Student" button at the top of your review screen. Clicking this button will share all feedback and credit you have entered with students.

post.png

Once you have posted work back to students, your students will be able to see your feedback and what level of credit they have earned by visiting their "Locker" tab.

How do I grade the same question across students?

If you would like to grade one question across all classes at once, click the "Grade this question for all students" button. Once clicked, a new window will appear that has a "Next" option in the top right corner that will bring you to the next student's response to that same question. 

Gradeall2.png     Gradeall.png

How do I use the "Quick Feedback" function?

You can offer feedback to students on a variety of different types of assessment responses. You can use the Quick Feedback function to expedite written feedback. To access that option, simply click on the Quick Feedback link that appears below the feedback text box. This option automatically includes 5 pre-written statements (e.g., “Nailed it! Nice work!”) along with 5 open slots for you to create your own customized feedback responses. 

quick.png

To add a custom feedback response, click on the pencil icon to the right of a "Create your own quick feedback" slot. Type in your sentence/phrase and click "Submit." Any custom feedback responses you create are saved to your profile and can be accessed (or changed) in the Quick Feedback menu in other lessons and sections.

combine.png

To insert a quick feedback response, just click on it in the quick feedback menu, and it will appear next to your cursor in the feedback box. To add an emoji, click on the happy face icon and select the emoji you wish to add.

Can students revise their answers?

Yes, but the revision process for answers to quick response questions (such as multiple choice) is different than the revision process for answers to written response questions (such as Solo sentence). Student can retry quick answer questions while they are completing a lesson by using one of their five available "retries:"

Retry.PNG

Students can revise submitted answers to written response questions only after their teacher returned feedback to them. Once returned, students can use the "Revise and resubmit" option to revise written responses:

locker2.png

It is up to you whether you accept these revisions for either full or half credit. The platform will allow students an unlimited number of revisions.

Can students retake (redo) an assignment?

Yes! If you would like students to be able to retake an entire assignment, you can enable retakes for that class by visiting "Class settings" and "Open advanced settings" in your educator account.

Once enabled, please note that when a student clicks “Retake,” their previous progress on the assignment is immediately deleted from Checkology and they must completely redo it in order to submit it to you.

For more information on how the retakes work or how to know if a student has retaken an assignment, please visit:

  Related article: Class settings: Retakes

Can students review assignment content after submitting?

Yes! Once students submit an assignment, they can revisit the assignment anytime by clicking the "Review" button on the assignment tile on their Dashboard (where it used to say "Start") or next to the assignment in their Locker tab. Once clicked, students can navigate through the whole assignment again, including their original responses.

Review.png

Please note: The "Review" button does not allow students to revise their previously submitted answers. If you want a student to be able to revise answers or completely retry an assignment, please visit the help center article "Managing student revisions and retakes."

What does "Batch complete for this section" mean?

When evaluating student work, you will see an option to "Batch complete for this section [class]." This option marks an assignment complete for all students in a class, enabling you to review student work even if students have not completed the assignment. Batch completing can only be done for an entire class at once; it is not possible to batch complete for an individual student.

  Please note: if you'd like to enable students to move forward in their course without having completed an assignment, just turn off the Course lock and instruct students to head to the next assignment.

Step-by-step guide to batching complete for a section/class

  1. Click "Evaluate" next to "Assignments" on your Dashboard.

    Evaluate.png

     

  2. Click "View" next to the assignment you'd like to batch complete.

    Timeview2.png

     

  3. Locate and click the "Batch complete for this section" option next to the class you'd like to batch complete.

    Batch1.png

     

  4. Select either full points or no points for the assignment.

    If you select "Full Points," the student will receive all assignment points in their locker, but you'll still be able to evaluate all short-answer and long-answer questions. If you select "No Points," the student will receive 0 points in their locker. "No Points" is used to indicate that the student did not complete the assignment, but you want to move them along in their course regardless. You can individually adjust full/no points for each student using the boxes next to their name (the left box means full points and the right box means no points).

    Batch2.png

     

  5. Click "Submit" and "Continue" on the disclaimer that appears.

    Batch3.png     Batch4.png

    Once you have finished the process, those batch completed assignments are marked "Complete" for each student. You'll then be able to click "View" next to those students' names to further evaluate student work on those assignments.

    Batch5.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful